• Education
  • Business & Commerce
  • Municipal Government
  • Community
  • Emergency Services

Durham Cemetery Company

Agendas and Minutes: 

Listing files in 'Cemetery Company'

Sexton: Ken Jay 860.346.3827

The  Durham Cemetery Company is a corporation, duly recorded, considered specially chartered; it exists under the laws of the State of Connecticut as a body politic and corporate by the twelve articles of association.

Powers and

To care for the burying grounds in said Town of Durham and the grounds, lots, monuments, vaults, etc. situated therein or connected therewith; to receive and expend funds given for that purpose; to receive and invest property and funds given or left by will, or otherwise acquired, and apply them or the income thereof for such purposes, and in accordance with the directions of the donors when such directions are given; to do any other business which may be intended to or grow out of, or be conveniently connected with the purposes aforesaid; and for said purposes to acquire, hold manage, sell and convey real and personal property. 

Printed Regulations:

Click here to view Durham Cemetery Company Bylaws.
Click here  to view Durham Cemetery Regulations
Click here for Assignment of Burial Rights Form
Click here for Application for Permission to Open Grave

Appointing Authority:    Elected by members.  Vacancies filled by remaining members of the corporation by election at a meeting called for that purpose.
Term of Office:    Three years
Constitution of Board/Quorum:        

The  Board  of  Directors  consists  of 15 Directors. Officers  consist  of  a  President,  Vice  President, Secretary, Assistant Secretary Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer.  Nine members of the Board of Directors and/or Officers constitute a quorum.


In 1900, 9 men, 6 of Durham, 2 of New Haven and 1 of New York City associated themselves under the laws of the State of Connecticut, as a body politic and corporate with twelve articles of association.

Current Board Members:  

2013 Term Members

Dolores Caturano
Mary DiMella
Tom Palmieri, Treasurer

Maggie Peterson, Secretary
Francis Willett


2014 Term Members 
Gerald Brown, President
Barbara Carangelo
Ken DiVito
Richard Olsen
Bruce Tubby


2015 Term Members
Gregory J. Burritt
Jonathan Field
Simone Howe
Laura L. Francis, Assistant Secretary
Barbara Olsen, Vice President

Kenneth Jay, Sexton  346-3827